4 days in Malaysia - Reisverslag uit Kuala Lumpur, Maleisië van Laura Ackermans - WaarBenJij.nu 4 days in Malaysia - Reisverslag uit Kuala Lumpur, Maleisië van Laura Ackermans - WaarBenJij.nu

4 days in Malaysia

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Laura

16 December 2015 | Maleisië, Kuala Lumpur

Actually the title says it all...

Sunday morning I landed at Kuala Lumpur International Airport. My flight was 2 hours delayed, but I had 3 chairs all to myself and had a nice sleep. With the bus and monorail I went to Chinatown in Kuala Lumpur. After a short walk I arrived in the hostel. I had made plans for the day, but was completely exhausted, so rested and took a nap instead. After some time an Australian girl walked into the dorm. We talked a bit and decided to go out to dinner together. She had been in KL for a while and showed me around Chinatown. After a meal, some shopping and a drink it was time for bed.

Monday morning Lilly (the girl) and I went to the national mosque. After playing dress-up we were allowed to enter and talked to a volunteer there about the differences and similarities of different religions. We continued our trip to Merdeka square, followed by lunch in the good old Chinatown. Lilly had to go and pack her bags and I went to see the Petronas Twin Towers. Apparently they are closed on Mondays, so I went up the KL tower and enjoyed an amazing view. I walked around the golden triangle a bit more and got some dinner to go. Very close to the twin towers is a park where every night a big water/light show is. That was pretty cool. :)

Tuesday morning I took a bus to Melaka. A small town with a very rich history and an awesome name. The Dutch occupied it for quite a long time and still there is "Dutch square" and "Stadthuys". There even was a small windmill, but that was built recently as a symbol of the renewed relations between Malaysia and the Netherlands.
I walked the entire afternoon around town and went to bed quite early, since I had to leave at 7.30 AM this morning.

I am now at the airport waiting for my flight to Bangkok. It's quite sad I have to leave already, because Malaysia is a beautiful country and I would definitely want to come back here some day, especially to see Borneo.

P.s. the Malaysians are very good in using airconditioning. Therefore it is wise to carry a sweater around at all times. Outside it might be 30 + degrees Celsius, but as soon as you enter a bus/mall/building the temperature drops to 18 degrees or something.

  • 19 December 2015 - 07:55

    Mariette:

    Ha Laura,

    Up to Bankok and up to Winnie. Have fun together and say hello to her on behalf of me.

  • 20 December 2015 - 08:42

    Oma José:

    Hi Laura, leuk verslag weer. Jammer dus dat je kort in Maleisië kunt zijn, maar er wacht je toch ook een leuke tijd met Winnie samen, he? Ben benieuwd hoe je Kerstmis en Nieuwjaar gaat ervaren. Groetjes, ook aan Winnie.

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Laura

Actief sinds 08 Nov. 2015
Verslag gelezen: 184
Totaal aantal bezoekers 7053

Voorgaande reizen:

14 November 2015 - 13 Maart 2016

Azië

Landen bezocht: